Ruby Chard Barley Pilaf

DSC01559cropped

When autumn arrived, ruby chard was one of the last crops still growing in my garden.  I managed to get one last harvest of this nutritious vegetable before everything got covered by snow. When cooked, the ruby chard gives away some of its burgundy colour to the barley and with the deep green leaves, we get an ensemble of green and red colours that fits perfectly with the holiday season.

rubychard_en

As I tend not to write anything down as I’m inventing recipes (which I immediately forget), this time I asked my dearest husband to help. And being true to himself, he could’t help but to include a horrible dad-joke. So here is the recipe, proudly offered to you by Shane:

barley pilaf recipecrop

One thought on “Ruby Chard Barley Pilaf

Leave a Reply

