Wild mushroom pesto pizza

DSC01215

Wild mushroom, pesto, pizza… there is nothing that can go wrong here and this pizza is simply beauuuuutiful!

It is greatly inspired from a recipe I found on yet another amazing vegan cooking blog called keepinitkind. The only difference is the pesto really. I like a strong flavourful pesto that is just bursting with fresh basil taste and the original recipe just didn’t have enough basil for my taste.

DSC01210

You can use any mushroom to garnish your pizza. There is actually a stand at my local farmer’s market that sells locally gathered wild mushrooms. Oh lord! so many shapes, colours and amazing flavours. I always want to buy them all. I talked through my recipe plan with the seller and he suggested two lovely mushrooms, some local wild chanterelles and I can’t remember the name of the second one sorry. I even had a moment of awe looking at all the incredible flavours available. Does anyone else get emotional looking at beautiful products, be it veggies, beans or fungi? Anyway, I do!

DSC01208

You can find the recipe at this link: http://keepinitkind.com/wild-mushroom-pistachio-pesto-pizza-with-tofu-chevre/

If you are a basil lover like me, you’ll want to replace the pesto by this one:

 

Nut pesto:

Ingredients:

  • 40 to 45 leaves of fresh basil
  • 3/4 cup of nuts (slivered raw almond or pistachios work great)
  • 2 Tbsp of nutritional yeast or vegan parmesan substitute
  • 3/4 cup of olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves crushed
  • 1/2 tsp of salt

Simply put all the ingredients in a food processor and process to the desired consistency.

There you go. Absolutely everyone will love this.

Bon appétit

A

 

 

Leave a Reply

